Weekly Photo Challenge – Temporary

This week, Ben Huberman suggests that we focus on “something you appreciate despite – or even because of – its short shelf life. ” One of the great things about photographers is that we have the ability to freeze time if only in a visual format. As he says in the post, “What we capture is just one specific moment of alignment between the world, our camera, and our eyes.” You can read the entire challenge post here.

It didn’t take long for me to think about some of the photos I’ve taken to come up with a small gallery of short-lived subjects. One of my favorite places to visit is the botanical garden. While a plant may blossom annually or less, some plants blossom all but continuously. In any case, the individual flowers have their own temporary life cycle. I present for your temporary review a gallery of my favorite floral shots. On most browsers, you can click on an image to enlarge it and to scroll through the gallery.

John Steiner

3 comments

  1. A flowery morning! Great pics… I once read that the only people not moved by flowers… are sociopaths. AZ is the place to be! I saw what the weather’s looking like in MN & ND, hope you’re on your way south!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.