Cellpic Sunday – 14 November 2021

Baker, Nevada.

In September, on our month-long road trip, our way to California was out of Salt Lake City, through Nevada on U.S. Highways 6 and 50. It was hardly out of our way to travel a short distance on state route 487 to the town of Baker, the gateway to the Great Basin National Park.

I will have a complete set of images to share on our trip up the mountain on the main park road at Great Basin National Park. Along the way, there are plenty of views of the basin, a high desert ringed by mountains. Along the way, though, there are viewpoints that feature some of the other mountains in the park as photo subjects. Such is the case with this week’s Cellpic Sunday choice. From the Mather Overlook, the view due west is Bald Mountain, so close you feel you could touch it when looking through a zoom lens. I will save the zoom pics for that future post.

About the photo: Captured in 108 MP mode on my Samsung S20U, this image was reduced from 12,000 x 9,000 pixels for display here. If you click on the image, however, you can pixel peep at the mountain in 4K UHD. From the camera, it was exported to Adobe Lightroom for basic cropping and tone adjustments. From there, it went to Luminar AI to add detail and erase a couple of pesky branches that I thought would frame the image on the upper left, but in post-processing the photo, I felt the image would look better with them gone. Luminar made it happen.

I encourage fellow bloggers to create their own Cellpic Sunday posts. I never have a specific topic for this feature, and the only rules are that the photo must be captured with a cell phone, iPad, or another mobile device… If you have an image from a drone, that’s acceptable as well. The second rule is to link your challenge-response to this post or leave a comment here with a link to your post in the comment.

John Steiner

20 comments

    • Interesting! Is there a space where the photo should be? If so, and you click on the space, does it link to the image on my Flickr site? Curious. I wonder if it’s browser-related.

      • Interesting, for sure. I’ve noticed that when I use the WordPress app on my phone to view one of my posts, clicking on an image doesn’t go to my Flickr site, it opens a gallery of images that it apparently pulls from the Flickr site since the images themselves aren’t stored on my blog site.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.