Cellpic Sunday – The Umpqua River

Umpqua River

Scott Creek County Park, Oregon.

OK, so I don’t quite understand it. The big sign at the entrance to a drive leading to a boat ramp on the Umpqua River says, “Scott Creek County Park.” When I look at a map, I can’t find a creek named “Scott Creek”. The park in Douglas County Oregon has a sign detailing the park and other information, but nothing that solves the mystery to me as to why it’s called Scott Creek. After all, just a short walk from the sign is a large public boat ramp that angles into the Umpqua River. Go figure.

About the photo: This image was taken at the water’s edge where the boat ramp enters the water. There was one other vehicle there, parked with an empty trailer, so I’m sure someone was out fishing on the river. There is a natural widening of the river right here that makes it perfect for locating a boat ramp. I captured this image with my Samsung S20U in 108 MP mode. The dreary day made processing a bit of a challenge, but I was able to extract some details and even a small patch of blue sky. After initial tweaks in Lightroom, Luminar Neo finished off the image. To view the image in 2K HD and peep at the metadata, click on the image to view details on my Flickr site.

I encourage fellow bloggers to create their own Cellpic Sunday posts. I never have a specific topic for this feature, and the only rules are that the photo must be captured with a cell phone, iPad, or another mobile device… If you have an image from a drone or even a dashcam, that’s acceptable as well. The second rule is to link your challenge response to this post or leave a comment here with a link to your post in the comment.

John Steiner

36 comments

  1. I’ll have to ask my friend who lived on the Umpqua River the story of
    Scott Creek. She might know it. Love your picture. That’s a beautiful area. We used to live about 40 minutes north of there in Cottage Grove, Oregon.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.