Lens-Artists Challenge #263 – Faces in a Crowd

Sail Away Party

In another place, another town
You were just a face in the crowd
You were just a face in the crowd
Out in the street, walking around
A face in the crowd

– Tom Petty

That 1990 Tom Petty song only made it to number 46 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart, but those lyrics are a perfect introduction to my challenge to show off your camera skills when it comes to faces, human or otherwise. While this challenge seems to be tailor-made for portrait or street photography, I will show you examples in other categories. My opening photo features the sail away party, a popular activity on the first day of an ocean cruise. Your personal choices might include examples from nature photography, pets, street photography, headshots, portraiture, fashion, sports, or wedding photography. If I missed a category and you have an example, I look forward to seeing it!

Marmoset
Marmoset at Natuwa.

This marmoset lives among others in a large cage for his own welfare. He was captured and lived as a pet for years and when his owner got tired of him or died this “pet” was relegated to a “prison” where he could be cared for and live with others of his kind at Natuwa, a wildlife rescue facility in Costa Rica. I was struck by the forlorn look on his face and those expressive eyes. Natuwa is filled with examples of animals that didn’t deserve to be captured for the enjoyment of humans.

Honor Guard
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier Honor Guard.

At Arlington National Cemetery in Virginia, an honor guard serves in perpetuity to guard the Tomb of the Unknowns. Persons and groups are invited to honor U.S. veterans and members of the armed forces by laying a wreath at the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier. Public wreath ceremonies are limited to one per group per day, with a maximum of four participants in the ceremony. The wreath for the ceremony is provided by the participants. On the day of my visit, a unit of the Ohio Wing Civil Air Patrol was selected to participate in the Wreath Laying Ceremony. The person in the foreground is a member of the honor guard. The others are members of the Ohio Wing. They are descending the steps to begin the ceremony.

Mariachi-1
Mariachi Band.

In Mazatlan, Mexico it is not uncommon to find mariachi bands at almost any public gathering. The singer of this particular song was so expressive and it was easy to see that he was lost in the music. I captured several photos and picked my favorite image of the group to convert to black-and-white.

United Tribes PowWow-3
Native American PowWow.

In 2016, I attended a Native American PowWow in Bismarck, North Dakota. The annual event, held this year from September 8 through 10, is always the second weekend in September. From the United Tribes About page here, “The word powwow is a noun an Eastern Algonquian language used to describe a gathering of Native people; however, in Indian Country, the event is defined as a cultural celebration that features group singing and dancing by men, women, and children.”

Feather cut
A young Native American.

I haven’t attended many PowWows over the years, but when I do, I always find interesting and colorful costumes and people proud of their heritage. I asked this young man if he minded my taking a photo of the feather sculpted in his hair and he was happy to pose for me.

Faire Lady-1
Renaissance Faire.

I always find elaborate costumes and interesting faces at the fairs. When this maiden isn’t performing on stage, she often sits in a tree near the stage and blows soap bubbles for the kids. No doubt, she loves entertaining at the fair.

I was hoping to feature some new images of a Renaissance Faire for this post. Unfortunately, this weekend, the weather isn’t the best with muddy grounds from heavy rains yesterday and a 95 percent chance of rain for tomorrow, we opted to wait until next week’s performance. This challenge will be auto-published while we are at the fairgrounds (I hope.)

Blogger Meetup - The Blue Woman Group
L-R: Janet, Donna, Marsha

In March 2022, Lynn and I were invited to join a group of bloggers who happened to be meeting for breakfast in Scottsdale, Arizona. Marsha (right) of the Always Write blog organized the event. Janet (left) of This, That and the Other Thing blog, and Donna (center), my colleague on the Lens-Artists team and host of the Wind Kisses blog posed for the photo.

Blogger Meetup-2
The Blue Person Group.
Front L-R: Janet, Donna, Marsha, Lynn. Back: Some photobomber… er, ah, I guess that’s me!

My favorite coincidence of this meetup is that all of us, Lynn and I included, happened to wear blue. The memo must have been sent telepathically, and no one admits to initiating a group color request. To view any of these images in 2K HD, you can view them on my Flickr site here.

Your challenge this week is to share images featuring faces, in a crowd or standing alone, human or animal. Selfies are approved. I am looking forward to seeing your take on “Faces in the Crowd”. Don’t forget to link to this post and be sure to tag your post with Lens-Artists to reach the widest audience.

Thanks to Amy for her challenge last week, “Frame your Photos.” Next week, Sofia leads with her challenge. If you’d like to participate but aren’t sure how to get started, click here.

John Steiner

122 comments

    • I picked the theme hoping to entice some street photography, and for me as well. I went out specifically to shoot some street photos, but as it turned out, I didn’t like any that I came home with. I definitely need more practice and to get over the anxiety. 🙂

      • I find that street photos work best for me when I’m in a situation where people are already pointing cameras at various things: music or sport events, tourist spots, and such.

  1. I love the faces you featured, so interesting. The Native American with a feather in his hair might be my favorite! The first one was fun. I almost felt it was like she almost stepped on a giant spider. The little marmoset might look just as sorrowful in his native setting, but it is so moving here. Poor little guy. It’s always a shock to see my own face even when I know it’s coming. We’ve had some good times, and more are coming up soon! 🙂

  2. A lovely challenge, John, but a bit difficult for a shy person like me…Loved your faces and examples, the young native with the feather cut is a gem, and of course the bloggers are favourites too!

    • I still get uncomfortable with street shooting and I actually tried a couple of outings to downtown Fargo, but I didn’t like anything I tried.
      I am much more comfortable with public places where people don’t get “bent out of shape” because there are cameras about. Then I am just another person with a camera.
      I was happy that I asked the young man for permission to photograph his haircut and he was more than happy to oblige.

  3. An exciting theme, I’ll probably have to look quite deep in my archive. My heart fell for the Marmoset monkey among your otherwise very nice and interesting photos.

  4. […] Unless they jump in front of my camera like this smiling guy in the crowd on Italian Days in Vancouver, Canada. Tribal elder at the Shangri-La Market on Inle Lake in Myanmar.This cheerful lady was part of a troupe of dancers called ‘Las Margaritas’ in Tonalá, Mexico.Our friend Magic in Udaipur, India.Some mischievous boys in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Everyone wanted their picture taken in this mercado in Alajuela, Costa Rica. Ladies celebrating the 50th birthday of the Crown Prince by waving red Danish flags and wearing crowns upon their heads (Copenhagen, Denmark).Burmese woman at the silk and lotus weaving workshop on Inle Lake, Myanmar.Worker boy happily peeling garlic at our cooking class in Udaipur, India.These students in Mexico City were a bit confused as to why I wanted photos of them – but who wouldn’t have wanted a photo of them?!Girl dressed up for her 15th-birthday celebration (quinceañera) in Guadalajara, Mexico. Lens-Artists Challenge: Faces in a Crowd. […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.