Lens-Artists Challenge #272 – Billboards and Signs

Maxie’s Hats

This week’s challenge was suggested to me by Charles Chubb. Thanks for the suggestion, Charles. In the 1970s, the sign in the opening image hung on a storefront at 46th Street and Broadway in Times Square, New York. It is an artifact that was on sale at the Mecum Auto Auction in Glendale, Arizona in 2022.

There are signs everywhere, they try to sell us, they can provide information, they can warn us of hazards, they can make us laugh, and they can tug at our emotions. This week’s challenge asks you to share images of signs or billboards that strike your fancy. Finally, for those who don’t make a habit of capturing images of physical signs, consider any photographs of metaphorical signs. I will start with some examples.

Snow near Bryce-
The first sign of winter in Utah.

A sign of the change of seasons came early one morning near Bryce Canyon. The day before was cloudy with rain and fog. We were up early to drive to Bryce to capture the morning sunrise. When I stepped outside, I saw the sign that winter was soon upon us.

1400 HP Mustang E
A sign of the changing times.

My last example of a metaphoric sign is this image of an all-electric Ford Mustang. This car with its 1400 HP electric motor system is a proof of concept for an electric high-performance race car. It reflects a sign of the changing times in personal vehicles.

Murdo-6
Burma Shave Signs.

In the mid-1920s, a Minneapolis company came upon the idea of a group of sequential signs they placed along highways. At an automobile museum in South Dakota, a compressed version of these signs, normally placed much further apart, is on display. This example of these small rectangular signs brings back memories for those of a certain age when U.S. highways featured Burma Shave advertisements. In this case, the signs read, “Past the Schoolhouse”, “Take it slow”, “Let the little”, “shavers grow”, and “Burma Shave.” The campaign was a catalyst for the Burma Shave Company and their sales exploded.

Siler City Murals-3
A billboard-style mural.

In Siler City, North Carolina, one of the many murals duplicates a historic billboard. Some states have limited, or even forbidden, these larger signs especially in areas with beautiful natural scenery. As one who travels many of the scenic byways of this great country, I am grateful for these regulations that keep America beautiful.

ND Posters-3
Vintage poster as art.

Posters are popular and are often reproductions of vintage signs. At one restaurant in Dickinson North Dakota, many of the pieces of wall art are reproductions of vintage signs from various attractions and businesses in North Dakota. It was fascinating to see many of these early ads on display. I photographed over half a dozen of them. They were all transferred to a wood backing and finished to protect the surface.

signs-5
A humorous “Watch your children” notice.

In a small shop, I noticed this sign asking people to keep an eye on their kids. It got the point across without being “preachy.”

Toothaker Path-1
Trail signs.

The signs may look like ordinary trail markers to most people, but to me, it’s a special photo. Maricopa Regional Parks has featured a “100 Miles in 100 Days” challenge over the years. This year’s challenge starts on November 1 2023 and continues through February 8, 2024. Lynn and I both met the challenge a couple of seasons in previous years. What makes this photo special to me is that Maricopa County Parks used the image as a background for their certificates. I don’t know if they are still using the image, but I was happy that my own photo graced the certificates we received.

Panama Canal Explosive sign-1
Warning sign on a barge.

Warning signs are not to be ignored. On a trip through the Panama Canal, I happened to notice that we passed a barge at some distance from our ship. I was happy I had a telephoto lens so I didn’t have to get too close to the barge to capture the image.

Brothel Museum
Wordless sign.

Not all signs need words. The red light in the window of the Brothel Museum above the Red Onion Saloon in Skagway, Alaska tells people what used to go on in the rooms on the second floor above the bar.

Crashed Car Sign
A sign to make you think before you drive.

A wrecked car inside this glass-walled trailer and the sign beside it act as a reminder that alcohol and driving don’t mix.

I am looking forward to seeing your challenge response this week. Be sure to tag your post with Lens-Artists so I can find your post in the reader, or put a link to your post in a comment below.

You can view my entire gallery in my Flickr album here. I even have a few more example images in the album. Thanks to Amy for hosting last week’s challenge, “Contrasts”. Next week, it’s Sofia’s turn. If you’d like to join in the challenge, but aren’t sure how to get started, check here.

John Steiner

176 comments

  1. Lots of wonderful examples of signs and billboards, Johnbo.
    The hat and boa is a fav as is the electric car. WOW … changes
    they are a coming. I don’t usually take photographs of signs so I tried my best.
    Have a great weekend … Isadora 😎

    • Thanks, Isadora! It seems that electric vehicles have a long way to go to reach a critical mass, but I think in the long term, they will have a reasonable market share especially in cities where distances are shorter.

  2. You certainly had a great response to this challenge, John. I enjoyed the wide variety of signs and billboards you’ve collected, especially the historic ones. I thought I had commented earlier, but it appears I hadn’t. Sorry about that! Hope all’s well.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.